Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

CHAPTER V

BILLING INSTRUCTIONS

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	i
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

CHAPTER V TABLE OF CONTENTS

	<u>Page</u>
Introduction	1
Direct Data Entry	1
Timely Filing	1
Billing Invoices	3
Basis of Payment	3
Billing for Anesthesia	4
Requests for Billing Materials	4
ANSI X12N 835 Health Care Claim Payment advice	5
Claim Inquiries	5
Billing Procedures	5
Electronic Filing Requirements	6
Claimcheck	7
Instructions for the Use of the CMS-1500 (02-12) Billing Form	
Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, ————————————————————————————————————	
Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), as an Adjustment Invoice	
Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12), as a Void Invoice	
Special Billing Instructions - Client Medical Management (CMM) Program	21
EDI Billing (Electronic Claims)	21
Instructions for Billing Medicare Crossover Part B Services	22
Invoice Processing	22

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	ii ii
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Exhibits

-24

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	+
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

CHAPTER V BILLING INSTRUCTIONS

INTRODUCTION

Claims for services must be submitted to Medicaid on the appropriate billing invoice with the use of billing codes as explained in the instructions for each invoice.

The billing forms are two-part forms. The original copy is submitted as a bill for services rendered; the provider copy is retained by the provider.

DIRECT DATA ENTRY (DDE)

As part of the 2011 General Assembly Appropriation Act – 300H which requires that all new providers bill claims electronically and receive reimbursement via Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) no later than October 1, 2011 and existing Medicaid providers to transition to electronic billing and receive reimbursement via EFT no later than July 1, 2012, DMAS has implemented the Direct Data Entry (DDE) system. Providers can submit claims quickly and easily via the Direct Data Entry (DDE) system. DDE will allow providers to submit Professional (CMS-1500), Institutional (UB-04) and Medicare Crossover claims directly to DMAS via the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal. Registration thru the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal is required to access and use DDE. The DDE User Guide, tutorial and FAQs can be accessed from our web portal at: <u>www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov.</u> To access the DDE system, select the Provider Resources tab and then select Claims Direct Data Entry (DDE). Providers have the ability to create a new initial claim, as well as an adjustment or a void through the DDE process. The status of the claim(s) submitted can be checked the next business day if claims were submitted by 5pm. DDE is provided at no cost to the provider.

TIMELY FILING

The Medical Assistance Program regulations require the prompt submission of all claims. Virginia Medicaid is mandated by federal regulations [42 CFR § 447.45(d)] to require the initial submission of all claims (including accident cases) within 12 months from the date of service. Providers are encouraged to submit billings within 30 days from the last date of service or discharge. Federal financial participation is not available for claims, which **are not** submitted within 12 months from the date of the service. Submission is defined as actual, physical receipt by DMAS. In cases where the actual receipt of a claim by DMAS is undocumented, it is the provider's responsibility to confirm actual receipt of a claim by DMAS within 12 months from the date of the service reflected on a claim. If billing electronically and timely filing must be waived, submit the DMAS-3 form with the appropriate attachments. The DMAS-3 form is to be used by electronic billers for attachments. (See Exhibits) Medicaid is not authorized to make payment on these late claims, except under the following conditions:

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	2
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Retroactive Eligibility - Medicaid eligibility can begin as early as the first day of the third month prior to the month of application for benefits. All eligibility requirements must be met within that time period. Unpaid bills for that period can be billed to Medicaid the same as for any other service. If the enrollment is not accomplished in a timely way, billing will be handled in the same manner as for delayed eligibility.

Delayed Eligibility - Medicaid may make payment for services billed more than 12 months from the date of service in certain circumstances. Medicaid denials may be overturned or other actions may cause eligibility to be established for a prior period. Medicaid may make payment for dates of service more than 12 months in the past when the claims are for an enrollee whose eligibility has been delayed. It is the provider's obligation to verify the patient's Medicaid eligibility. Providers who have rendered care for a period of delayed eligibility will be notified by a copy of a letter from the local department of social services which specifies the delay has occurred, the Medicaid claim number, and the time span for which eligibility has been granted. The provider must submit a claim on the appropriate Medicaid claim form within 12 months from the date of the notification of the delayed eligibility. A copy of the "signed and dated" letter from the local department of social services indicating the delayed claim information must be attached to the claim.

Denied claims Denied claims must be submitted and processed on or before thirteen months from date of the initial denied claim where the initial claim was filed within the 12 months limit to be considered for payment by Medicaid. The procedures for resubmission are:

- <u>Complete invoice as explained in this billing chapter.</u>
- Attach written documentation to justify/verify the explanation. This documentation may be continuous denials by Medicaid or any dated follow up correspondence from Medicaid showing that the provider has actively been submitting or contacting Medicaid on getting the claim processed for payment. Actively pursuing claim payment is defined as documentation of contacting DMAS at least every six months. Where the provider has failed to contact DMAS for six months or more, DMAS shall consider the resubmission to be untimely and no further action shall be taken. If billing electronically and waiver of timely filing is being requested, submit the claim with the appropriate attachments. (The DMAS-3 form is to be used by electronic billers for attachments. See exhibits)

Accident Cases The provider may either bill Medicaid or wait for a settlement from the responsible liable third party in accident cases. However, all claims for services in accident cases must be billed to Medicaid within 12 months from the date of the service. If the provider waits for the settlement before billing Medicaid and the wait extends beyond 12 months from the date of the service, Medicaid shall make no reimbursement.

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	3
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Other Primary Insurance - The provider should bill other insurance as primary. However, all claims for services must be billed to Medicaid within 12 months from the date of the service. If the provider waits for payment before billing Medicaid and the wait extends beyond 12 months from the date of the service, Medicaid shall make no reimbursements. If payment is made from the primary insurance carrier after a payment from Medicaid has been made, an adjustment or void should be filed at that time.

Other Insurance – The member can keep private health insurance and still be covered by Medicaid or FAMIS Plus. The other insurance plan pays first. Having other health insurance does not change the co-payment amount that providers can collect from a Medicaid member. For members with a Medicare supplemental policy, the policy can be suspended with Medicaid coverage for up to 24 months while the member has Medicaid without penalty from their insurance company. The members must notify the insurance company within 90 days of the end of Medicaid coverage to reinstate the supplemental insurance.

Submit the claim in the usual manner by mailing the claim to billing address noted in this chapter.

BILLING INVOICES

The requirements for submission of billing information and the use of the appropriate billing invoice depend upon the type of service being rendered by the provider and/or the billing transaction being completed. Listed below is the billing invoice to be used for billing podiatry care services:

Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12)

(DMAS-31 R 05/06) BASIS OF PAYMENT

A request for payment must be made under the Medicaid eligibility number of the person receiving the services and whose Medicaid eligibility number appears on the billing invoice.

Federal regulation 42 CFR 447.15 requires providers to accept Medicaid payment as payment in full for the service rendered. The provider may not bill DMAS or the member for the difference (if any) between the allowed charge and the provider's actual charge.

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	4
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

The provider must bill any other possibly liable third party prior to billing DMAS. DMAS will pay the difference between the Program's allowable fee and any payment made by another third party if that payment is less than the allowable fee.

When Medicare (Title XVIII) makes a payment for a provider's covered services, the provider may claim payment of any deductible and coinsurance amounts due from DMAS. However, he or she may not claim payment of the difference (if any) between the Medicare allowed fee and his or her actual fee for services. Also, Medicaid payments for Medicare Part B coinsurance are limited to the difference between Medicaid's maximum fee for a given procedure and 80 per cent of Medicare's allowance. The combined payments by Medicare and Medicaid will not exceed Medicaid's allowed charge for that procedure.

BILLING FOR ANESTHESIA

To bill for anesthesia, providers must use the CPT anesthesia codes. These codes can be found in the *Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology* (CPT) book.

REQUESTS FOR BILLING MATERIALS

Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12) and (UB-04)

The CMS 1500 (02-12) and CMS 1450 (UB-04) are universally accepted claim forms that is required when billing DMAS for covered services. The form is available from form printers and the U.S. Government Printing Office. Specific details on purchasing these forms can be obtained by writing to the following address:

U.S. Government Print Office
 Superintendent of Documents
 Washington, DC 20402
 (202) 512–1800 (Order and Inquiry Desk)

Note: The CMS-1500 (02-12) will not be provided by DMAS.

The request for forms or Billing Supplies must be submitted by:

Mail Your Request To: Commonwealth Mailing 1700 Venable St., Richmond, VA 23223

Calling the DMAS order desk at Commonwealth Martin 804-780-0076 or, by faxing the MAS order desk at Commonwealth Martin 804-780-0198.

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	5
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

ANSI X12N 835 HEALTH CARE CLAIM PAYMENT ADVICE

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires that Medicaid, comply with the electronic data interchange (EDI) standards for health care as established by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. The 835 Claims Payment Advice transaction set is used to communicate the results of claim adjudication. DMAS will make a payment with an electronic funds transfer (EFT) or check for a claim that has been submitted by a provider (typically by using an 837 Health Care Claim Transaction Set). The payment detail is electronically posted to the provider's accounts receivable using the 835. In addition to the 835 the provider will receive an unsolicited 277 Claims Status Response for the notification of pending claims. For technical assistance with certification of the 835 Claim Payment Advice, please contact our fiscal agent at Claim Payment Advice please contact our fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, LLC at (866) 352-0766.

CLAIM INQUIRIES

Inquiries concerning covered benefits, specific billing procedures, or questions regarding Virginia Medicaid policies and procedures should be directed to:

Customer Services Department of Medical Assistance Services 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300 Richmond, VA 23219

Telephone Numbers

1-804-786-6273	Richmond Area and out-of-state long distance
1-800-552-8627	In state long distance (toll-free)

Enrollee verification and claim status may be obtained by telephoning:

1-800-772-9996	Toll-free throughout the United States
<u>1-800-884-9730</u>	Toll-free throughout the United States
(804) 965-9732	Richmond and Surrounding Counties
(804) 065 0733	Richmond and Surrounding Counties
(00+) 705 7155	- Kielinona and Sunounding Counties

Enrollee verification and claim status may also be obtained by utilizing the Web based Automated Response System. See Chapter I for more information.

BILLING PROCEDURES

The appropriate claim form or billing invoice must be used by physicians and other practitioners when billing the Virginia Medicaid Program for covered services provided to eligible Medicaid enrollees. Each enrollee's services must be billed on a separate form.

The provider should carefully read and adhere to the following instructions so that claims can be processed efficiently. Accuracy, completeness, and clarity are important. Claims

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	6
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

cannot be processed if applicable information is not supplied or is illegible. Completed claims should be mailed to:

Department of Medical Assistance Services Practitioner P.O. Box 27444 Richmond, Virginia 23261-7444

Or

- Department of Medical Assistance Services

<u>— CMS Crossover</u>

-P. O. Box 27444

-Richmond, Virginia 23261-7444

ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIREMENTS

DMAS is fully compliant with 5010 transactions and will no longer accept 4010 transactions after March 30, 2012.

The Virginia MMIS will accommodate the following EDI transactions according to the specification published in the Companion Guide version 5010

270/271 Health Insurance Eligibility Request/ Response Verification for Covered Benefits (5010)

276/277 Health Care Claim Inquiry to Request/ Response to Report the Status of a Claim (5010)

277 Unsolicited Response (5010)

820 - Premium Payment for Enrolled Health Plan Members (5010)

834 - Enrollment/ Disenrollment to a Health Plan (5010)

835 - Health Care Claim Payment/ Remittance (5010)

837 - Dental Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010)

837 - Institutional Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010)

837 - Professional Health Care Claim or Encounter (5010)

NCPDP - National Council for Prescription Drug Programs Batch (5010)

NCPDP - National Council for Prescription Drug Programs POS (5010)

Although not mandated by HIPAA, DMAS has opted to produce an Unsolicited 277 transaction to report information on pended claims.

All 5010/D.0 Companion Guides are available on the web portal: https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides or contact EDI Support at <u>1-866-352-0766 or Virginia.EDISupport@xerox.com</u>. Although not mandated by HIPAA, DMAS has opted to produce an Unsolicited 277 transaction to report information on pended claims.

For providers that are interested in receiving more information about utilizing any of the

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	7
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Dat	te
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	15

above electronic transactions, your office or vendor can obtain the necessary information at our fiscal agent's website: <u>https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov</u>.

CLAIMCHECK

- Effective June 3, 2013, DMAS implemented the Medicaid National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) Procedure to Procedure (PTP) and Medically Unlikely Edits (MUE) edits. This implementation was in response to directives in the Affordable Care Act of 2010. These new edits will impact all Physicians, Laboratory, Radiology, Ambulatory Surgery Centers, and Durable Medical Equipment and Supply providers. Effective January 1, 2014, all outpatient hospital claims will be subject the the NCCI edits thru the EAPG claim processing. Please refer to the Hospital Manual, Chapter 5 for details related to EAPG. The NCCI/ClaimCheck edits are part of the daily claims adjudication cycle on a concurrent basis. The current claim will be processed to edit history claims. Any adjustments or denial of payments from the current or history claim(s) will be done during the daily adjudication cycle and reported on the providers weekly remittance cycle. All NCCI/ClaimCheck edits are based on the following global claim factors: same member, same servicing provider, same date of service or the date of service is within established pre or post operative time frame. All CPT and HCPCS code will be subject to both the NCCI and ClaimCheck edits. Upon review of the denial, the provider can re submit a corrected claim. Any system edits related to timely filing, etc. are still applicable.
- PTP Edits:

CMS has combined the Medicare Incidental and Mutually Exclusive edits into a new PTP category. The PTP edits define pairs of CPT/HCPCS codes that should not be reported together. The PTP codes utilize a column one listing of codes to a column two listing of codes. In the event a column one code is billed with a column two code, the column one code will pay, the column two code will deny. The only exception to the PTP is the application of an accepted Medicaid NCCI modifier. **Note:** Prior to this implementation, DMAS modified the CCI Mutually Exclusive edit to pay the procedure with the higher billed charge. This is no longer occurring, since CMS has indicated that the code in column one is to be paid regardless of charge.

MUE Edits:

DMAS implemented the Medicaid NCCI MUE edits. These edits define for each CPT/HCPCS code the maximum units of service that a provider would report under most circumstances for a single member on a single date of service and by same servicing provider. The MUEs apply to the number of units allowed for a specific procedure code, per day. If the claim units billed exceed the per day allowed, the claim

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	8
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	1 5

will deny. With the implementation of the MUE edits, providers must bill any bilateral procedure correctly. The claim should be billed with one unit and the 50 modifier. The use of two units will subject the claim to the MUE, potentially resulting in a denial of the claim. Unlike the current ClaimCheck edit which denies the claim and creates a claim for one unit, the Medicaid NCCI MUE edit will deny the entire claim.

Exempt Provider Types

DMAS has received approval from CMS to allow the following provider types to be exempt from the Medicaid NCCI editing process. These providers are: Community Service Boards (CSB), Federal Health Center (FQHC),Rural Health Clinics (RHC), Schools and Health Departments. These are the only providers exempt from the NCCI/editing process. All other providers billing on the CMS 1500 will be subject to these edits.

Service Authorizations:

DMAS has received approval from CMS to exempt specific CPT/HCPCS codes which require a valid service authorization. These codes are exempt from the MUE edits however, they are still subject to the PTP and ClaimCheck edits.

Modifiers:

Prior to this implementation, DMAS allowed claim lines with modifiers 24, 25, 57, 59 to bypass the CCI/ClaimCheck editing process. With this implementation, DMAS now only allows the Medicaid NCCI associated modifiers as identified by CMS for the Medicaid NCCI. The modifier indicator currently applies to the PTP edits. The application of this modifier is determined by the modifier indicator of "1" or "0" in the listing of the NCCI PTP column code. If the column one, column two code combination has a modifier indicator of "1", a modifier is allowed and both codes will pay. If the modifier indicator is "0", the modifier is not allowed and the column two code will be denied. The MUE edits do not contain a modifier indicator table on the edit table. Per CMS, modifiers may only be applied if the clinical circumstances justify the use of the modifier. A provider cannot use the modifier just to bypass the edit. The recipient's medical record must contain documentation to support the use of the modifier by clearly identifying the significant, identifiable service that allowed the use of the modifier. DMAS or its agent will monitor and audit the use of these modifiers to assure compliance. These audits may result in recovery of overpayment(s) if the medical record does not appropriately demonstrate the use of the modifiers.

Modifiers that may be used under appropriate clinical circumstances to bypass an NCCI PTP edit include: E1 E4, FA, F1 F9, TA T1 T9, LT, RT, LC, LD, RC, LM, RI, 24, 25, 57, 58, 78, 79, 27, 59, 91. Modifiers 22, 76 and 77 are not Medicaid PTP NCCI approved modifiers. If these modifiers are used, they will not bypass the Medicaid PTP NCCI edits.

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	9
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	

INSTRUCTIONS FOR USE OF THE CMS-1500 (02-12), BILLING FORM

STARTING 04/01/2014 AND AFTER

The Direct Data Entry (DDE) CMS 1500 claim form on the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal will be updated to accommodate the changes to locators 21 and 24E on 4/1/2014. Please note that providers are encouraged to use DDE for submission of claims that cannot be submitted electronically to DMAS. Registration thru the Virginia Medicaid Web Portal is required to access and use DDE. The DDE User Guide, tutorial and FAQ's can be accessed from our web portal at: www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov. To access the DDE system, select the Provider Resources tab and then select Claims Direct Data Entry (DDE). Providers have the ability to create a new initial claim, as well as an adjustment or a void through the DDE process. The status of the claim(s) submitted can be checked the next business day if claims were submitted by 5pm. DDE is provided at no cost to the provider. Paper claim submissions should only be submitted when requested specifically by DMAS.

To bill for services, the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS 1500 (02-12), invoice form must be used for paper claims **received on or after April 1, 2014**. The following instructions have numbered items corresponding to fields on the CMS 1500 (02-12). The purpose of the CMS 1500 (02-12) is to provide a form for participating providers to request reimbursement for covered services rendered to Virginia Medicaid members.

SPECIAL NOTE: The provider number in locator 24J must be the same in locator 33 unless the Group/Billing Provider relationship has been established and approved by DMAS for use.

Locator		Instructions
1	REQUIRED	Enter an "X" in the MEDICAID box for the Medicaid Program. Enter an "X" in the OTHER box for
		Temporary Detention Order (TDO) or Emergency Detention Order (EDO).
1a	REQUIRED	Insured's I.D. Number - Enter the 12 digit Virginia Medicaid Identification number for the member receiving the service.
2	REQUIRED	Patient's Name - Enter the name of the member receiving the service.
3	NOT REQUIRED	Patient's Birth Date
4	NOT REQUIRED	Insured's Name
5	NOT REQUIRED	Patient's Address
6	NOT REQUIRED	Patient Relationship to Insured
7	NOT REQUIRED	Insured's Address
8	NOT REQUIRED	Reserved for NUCC Use
9	NOT REQUIRED	Other Insured's Name
9a	NOT REQUIRED	Other Insured's Policy or Group Number

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	10
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	15

Locator		Instructions
9b	NOT REQUIRED	Reserved for NUCC Use
9c	NOT REQUIRED	Reserved for NUCC Use
9d	NOT REQUIRED	Insurance Plan Name or Program Name
10	REQUIRED	Is Patient's Condition Related To: - Enter an "X" in the appropriate box. a. Employment? b. Auto accident c. Other Accident? (This includes schools, stores, assaults, etc.) NOTE: The state postal code should be entered if known.
10d	Conditional	Claim Codes (Designated by NUCC) Enter "ATTACHMENT" if documents are attached to the claim form.
11	NOT REQUIRED	Insured's Policy Number or FECA Number
11a	NOT REQUIRED	Insured's Date of Birth
11b	NOT REQUIRED	Other Claim ID
11c	REQUIRED If applicable	Insurance Plan or Program Name Providers that are billing for non-Medicaid MCO copays only please insert "HMO Copay".
11d	REQUIRED	Is There Another Health Benefit Plan?
	If applicable	Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third party coverage.
12 13 14	If applicable NOT REQUIRED NOT REQUIRED REQUIRED If Applicable	Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third party coverage. Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy Enter date MM DD YY format Enter Qualifier 431 – Onset of Current Symptoms or
13 14	If applicable NOT REQUIRED NOT REQUIRED REQUIRED If Applicable	Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third party coverage. Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy Enter date MM DD YY format Enter Qualifier 431 Onset of Current Symptoms or Illness
13	If applicable NOT REQUIRED NOT REQUIRED REQUIRED	Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third party coverage. Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy Enter date MM DD YY format Enter Qualifier 431 – Onset of Current Symptoms or
13 14 15	If applicable NOT REQUIRED NOT REQUIRED REQUIRED If Applicable	Providers should only check Yes, if there is other third party coverage. Patient's or Authorized Person's Signature Insured's or Authorized Person's Signature Date of Current Illness, Injury, or Pregnancy Enter date MM DD YY format Enter Qualifier 431 - Onset of Current Symptoms or Illness Other Date

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	11
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	15

Locator		Instructions	
17b	REQUIRED	I.D. Number of Referring Physician - Enter the National	
	If applicable	Provider Identifier of the referring physician.	
18	NOT REQUIRED	Hospitalization Dates Related to Current Services	
19	REQUIRED If applicable	Additional Claim Information Enter the CLIA #.	
20	NOT REQUIRED	Outside Lab	
21 A-L	REQUIRED	Diagnosis or Nature of Illness or Injury Enter the appropriate ICD diagnosis code, which describes the nature of the illness or injury for which the service was rendered in locator 24E. Note: Line 'A' field should be the Primary/Admitting diagnosis followed by the next highest level of specificity in lines B-L. Note: ICD Ind OPTIONAL 9= ICD-9-CM Dates of service through 9/30/15 0=ICD-10-CM Dates of service 10//1/15 and after	
22	REQUIRED If applicable	Resubmission Code – Original Reference Number. Required for adjustment and void. See the instructions for Adjustment and Void Invoices.	
23	REQUIRED If applicable	Prior Authorization (PA) Number Enter the PA number for approved services that require a service authorization.	
	NOTE: The locators 24A thru 24J have been divided into open areas and a shaded line area. The shaded area is ONLY for supplemental information. DMAS has given instructions for the supplemental information that is required when needed for DMAS claims processing. ENTER REQUIRED INFORMATION ONLY.		
24A lines 1-6 open area	REQUIRED	Dates of Service - Enter the from and thru dates in a 2-digit format for the month, day and year (e.g., 01/01/14). DATES MUST BE WITHIN THE SAME MONTH	

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	12
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	1 5

Locator		
24A lines 1- 6 red shaded	REQUIRED If applicable	DMAS requires the use of qualifier 'TPL'. This qualifier is to be used whenever an actual payment is made by a third party payer. The 'TPL' qualifier is to be followed by the dollar/cents amount of the payment by the third party carriers. Example: Payment by other carrier is \$27.08; red shaded area would be filled as TPL27.08 . No spaces between qualifier and dollars. No \$ symbol but the decimal between dollars and cents is required.
		DMASrequirestheuseofthequalifier'N4'.ThisqualifieristobeusedfortheNationalDrugCode(NDC)wheneveraHCPCSdrugrelatedcodeissubmittedin24D toDMASNospacesbetweenthequalifierandtheNDCDMASNospacesbetweenthequalifierandtheNDCnumber.NOTE:DMASisrequiringtheuseoftheUnitofMeasurementQualifiersfollowingtheNDCnumberforclaimsreceivedonandafterMay 26, 2014.Theunit ofmeasurementqualifiercodeisfollowedbythemetricdecimalquantityunit ofMeasurement QualifierCodes:F2International UnitsGRGramMLMILMillilterUNUNUnitExamples of NDC quantities for various dosage forms asfollows:a.Tablets/Capsulesbill per UNb. OralLiquidsbill per MLc.Reconstituted (or liquids) injectionsbill per MLd. Non-reconstitutedinjections (LE. vial of Rocephinpowder)bill asUN (1 vial = 1 unit)e. Creams, ointments, topical powdersbill per GRfill per GRfill per GR
		BILLING EXAMPLES:
		TPL, NDC and UOM submitted:
		TPL3.50N412345678901ML1.0
		NDC, UOM and TPL submitted:
		N412345678901ML1.0TPL3.50

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	13
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/20	1 5

Locator	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	<u>Instructions</u> NDC and UOM submitted only:
		NDC and CONTSUBILITED ONLY: N412345678901ML1.0
		TPL submitted only:
		TPL3.50
		<u>Note: Enter only TPL, NDC and UOM information in the supplemental shaded area. (see billing examples)</u> <u>All supplemental information is to be left justified.</u>
	information supp If there is set that the coordinat If locator shaded lin no-payment EOB/doc payment If locator payment- was bille	nothing indicated or 'NO' is checked in locator 11d, DMAS will be patient had no other third party carrier. This relates to the old ion of benefit code 2. 11d is checked 'YES' and there is nothing in the locator 24a red he; DMAS will set that the third party carrier was billed and made ent. This relates to the old coordination of benefit code 5. An cumentation must be attached to the claim to verify non
24B open area	REQUIRED	Place of Service - Enter the 2-digit CMS code, which describes where the services were rendered.
24C open area	REQUIRED If applicable	Emergency Indicator - Enter either 'Y' for YES or leave blank. DMAS will not accept any other indicators for this locator.
24D open area	REQUIRED	Procedures, Services or Supplies – CPT/HCPCS – Enter the CPT/HCPCS code that describes the procedure rendered or the service provided. Modifier - Enter the appropriate CPT/HCPCS modifiers if applicable.
24E	REQUIRED	Diagnosis Code - Enter the diagnosis code reference letter

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	14
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Locator		Instructions
area		service and the procedure performed to the primary diagnosis. The primary diagnosis code reference letter for each service should be listed first. NOTE: A maximum of 4 diagnosis code reference letter pointers should be entered. Claims with values other than A L in Locator 24 E or blank may be denied.
24F open area	REQUIRED	Charges - Enter your total usual and customary charges for the procedure/services.
24G open area	REQUIRED	Days or Unit - Enter the number of times the procedure, service, or item was provided during the service period.
24H open area	REQUIRED If applicable	 EPSDT or Family Planning - Enter the appropriate indicator. Required only for EPSDT or family planning services. 1 Early and Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program Services 2 Family Planning Service
24I open	REQUIRED If applicable	NPI — This is to identify that it is a NPI that is in locator 24J
24 I red- shaded	REQUIRED If applicable	ID QUALIFIER The qualifier 'ZZ' can be entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in locator 24J open line. The qualifier '1D' is required for the API entered in locator 24J red shaded line.
24J open	REQUIRED If applicable	Rendering provider ID# - Enter the 10 digit NPI number for the provider that performed/rendered the care.
2 4J red- shaded	REQUIRED If applicable	Rendering provider ID# The qualifier '1D' is required for the API entered in this locator. The qualifier 'ZZ' can be entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in locator 24J open line.
25	NOT REQUIRED	Federal Tax I.D. Number
26	REQUIRED	Patient's Account Number Up to FOURTEEN alpha- numeric characters are acceptable.
27	NOT REQUIRED	Accept Assignment
28	REQUIRED	Total Charge - Enter the total charges for the services in 24F lines 1-6

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	15
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Locator		Instructions
29	REQUIRED If applicable	Amount Paid – For personal care and waiver services only enter the patient pay amount that is due from the patient. NOTE: The patient pay amount is taken from services billed on 24A line 1. If multiple services are provided on same date of service, then another form must be completed since only one line can be submitted if patient pay is to be considered in the processing of this service.
30	NOT REQUIRED	Rsvd for NUCC Use
31	REQUIRED	Signature of Physician or Supplier Including Degrees or Credentials - The provider or agent must sign and date the invoice in this block.
32	REQUIRED If applicable	Service Facility Location Information – Enter the name as first line, address as second line, city, state and 9 digit zip code as third line for the location where the services were rendered. NOTE: For physician with multiple office locations, the specific Zip code must reflect the office location where services given. Do NOT use commas, periods or other punctuations in the address. Enter space between city and state. Include the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code.
32a open	REQUIRED If applicable	NPI # - Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the service location.
32b red shaded	REQUIRED If applicable	Other ID#: The qualifier '1D' is required for the API entered in this locator. The qualifier of 'ZZ' can be entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in locator 32a open line.
33	REQUIRED	 Billing Provider Info and PH # - Enter the billing name as first line, address as second line, city, state and 9 digit zip code as third line. This locator is to identify the provider that is requesting to be paid. NOTE: Do NOT use commas, periods or other punctuations in the address. Enter space between city and state. Include the hyphen for the 9 digit zip code. The phone number is to be entered in the area to the right of the field title. Do not use hyphen or space as separator within the telephone number.
33a open	REQUIRED	NPI – Enter the 10 digit NPI number of the billing provider.
33b	REQUIRED	Other Billing ID - The qualifier '1D' is required for the API

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	16
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

red shaded If applicable entered in this locator. The qualifier 'ZZ' can be entered to identify the provider taxonomy code if the NPI is entered in locator 33a open line. NOTE: DO NOT use commas, periods, space, hyphens or other punctuations between the qualifier and the number.

Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), as an Adjustment Invoice

The Adjustment Invoice is used to change information on a paid claim. Follow the instructions for the completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), except for the locator indicated below.

Locator 22 Medicaid Resubmission

<u>Code</u> - Enter the 4-digit code identifying the reason for the submission of the adjustment invoice.

- **1023** Primary Carrier has made additional payment
- **1024 Primary Carrier has denied payment**
- **1025** Accommodation charge correction
- **1026** Patient payment amount changed
- **1027** Correcting service periods
- **1028** Correcting procedure/service code
- **1029** Correcting diagnosis code
- **1030** Correcting charges
- **1031** Correcting units/visits/studies/procedures
- **1032** IC reconsideration of allowance, documented
- **1033** Correcting admitting, referring, prescribing, provider identification number
- **1053** Adjustment reason is in the Misc. Category

<u>Original Reference Number/ICN</u> - Enter the claim reference number/ICN of the paid claim. This number may be obtained from the remittance voucher and is required to identify the claim to be adjusted. Only <u>one</u> claim can be adjusted on each CMS-1500 submitted as an <u>Adjustment Invoice</u>. (Each line under Locator 24 is one claim.)

NOTE: ICNs can only be adjusted through the Virginia MMIS up to three years from the **date the claim was paid**. After three years, ICNs are purged from the Virginia MMIS and

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	17
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

can no longer be adjusted through the Virginia MMIS. If an ICN is purged from the Virginia MMIS, the provider must send a refund check made payable to DMAS and include the following information:

- A cover letter on the provider's letterhead which includes the current address, contact name and phone number.
- An explanation about the refund.
- A copy of the remittance page(s) as it relates to the refund check amount.

Mail all information to:

----- Department of Medical Assistance Services

600 East Broad St. Suite 1300

Richmond, VA 23219

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	18
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

Instructions for the Completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12), as a Void Invoice

The Void Invoice is used to void a paid claim. Follow the instructions for the completion of the Health Insurance Claim Form, CMS-1500 (02-12), except for the locator indicated below.

Locator 22

Medicaid Resubmission

<u>Code</u> - Enter the 4-digit code identifying the reason for the submission of the void invoice.

- **1042** Original claim has multiple incorrect items
- **1044** Wrong provider identification number
- **1045** Wrong enrollee eligibility number
- **1046** Primary carrier has paid DMAS maximum allowance
- 1047 Duplicate payment was made
- 1048 Primary carrier has paid full charge
- **1051** Enrollee not my patient
- **1060** Other insurance is available

<u>Original Reference Number/ICN</u> - Enter the claim reference number/ICN of the paid claim. This number may be obtained from the remittance voucher and is required to identify the claim to be voided. Only <u>one</u> claim can be voided on each CMS-1500 submitted as a <u>Void Invoice</u>. (Each line under Locator 24 is one claim.)

NOTE: ICNs can only be voided through the Virginia MMIS up to three years from the **date the claim was paid**. After three years, ICNs are purged from the Virginia MMIS and can no longer be voided through the Virginia MMIS. If an ICN is purged from the Virginia MMIS, the provider must send a refund check made payable to DMAS and include the following information:

- A cover letter on the provider's letterhead which includes the current address, contact name and phone number.
- An explanation about the refund.
- A copy of the remittance page(s) as it relates to the refund check amount.

Mail all information to:

Department of Medical Assistance Services

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	19
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

	ocurement Division, Cashi	ier
600 East Broad St.	. Suite 1300	
Richmond,		23219

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	20
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

SPECIAL BILLING INSTRUCTIONS - CLIENT MEDICAL MANAGEMENT (CMM) PROGRAM

The primary care physician (PCP) and any other provider who is part of the PCP'S CMM Affiliation Group bills for services in the usual manner, but other physicians must follow special billing instructions to receive payment. (Affiliation Groups are explained in Chapter I under CMM.) Other physicians must indicate a PCP referral or an emergency unless the service is excluded from the requirement for a referral. Excluded services are listed in Chapter I.

All services should be coordinated with the primary health care provider whose name is provided at the time of verification of eligibility. The CMM PCP referral does not override Medicaid service limitations. All DMAS requirements for reimbursement, such as pre-authorization, still apply as indicated in each provider manual.

When treating a restricted enrollee, a physician covering for the primary care physician or on referral from the primary care physician, must place the primary care physician's Medicaid provider number in Locator 17a and attach a copy of the Practitioner Referral Form (DMAS-70) to the invoice.

In a medical emergency situation, if the practitioner rendering treatment is not the primary care physician, he or she must certify that a medical emergency exists for payment to be made. The provider must enter a "1" in Locator 24I and attach an explanation of the nature of the emergency.

LOCATOR SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS

- 10d Write "ATTACHMENT" for the Practitioner Referral Form, DMAS-70, or for remarks as appropriate.
- 17a When a restricted enrollee is treated on referral from the primary care physician, enter the primary care physician's Medicaid provider number (as indicated on the DMAS-70 referral form) and attach a copy of the Practitioner Referral Form to the invoice. Write "ATTACHMENT" in Locator 10d.
- 24I When a restricted enrollee is treated in an emergency situation by a provider other than the primary care physician, the nondesignated physician enters a "1" in this Locator and explains the nature of the emergency in an attachment. Write "ATTACHMENT" in Locator 10d.

EDI Billing (Electronic Claims)

Follow the instructions for the 837 transaction and the standard for attachments using the Claim Attachment Form (DMAS-3).

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	21
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

INSTRUCTIONS FOR BILLING MEDICARE CROSSOVER PART B SERVICES

The Virginia Medical Assistance Program implemented the consolidation process for Virginia Medicare crossover process, referred to as the Coordination of Benefits Agreement (COBA) in January 23, 2006. This process resulted in the transferring the claims crossover functions from individual Medicare contractors to one national claims crossover contractor.

The COBA process is only using the 837 electronic claims format. Refer to the applicable 837 Implementation Guide and the Virginia Medicaid 837 Companion Guide (https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides) for more information.

Beginning March 1, 2006, Virginia Medicaid began accepting secondary claims to Medicaid when Medicare is primary from providers and not just thru the COBA process. If you receive notification that your Medicare claims did not cross to Virginia Medicaid or the crossover claim has not shown on your Medicaid remittance advice after 30 days, you should submit your claim directly to Medicaid. These claims can be resubmitted directly to DMAS either electronically, via Direct Data Entry or by using the CMS 1500 (02 12) paper claim form. Refer to the applicable 837 Implementation Guide and the Virginia Medicaid 837 Companion Guide (https://www.virginiamedicaid.dmas.virginia.gov/wps/portal/EDICompanionGuides) for more information.

An electronic claim can be sent to Virginia Medicaid if you need to resubmit a crossover claim that originally denied, such as for other coverage, or if you need to adjust or void a paid crossover claim, such as to include patient liability.

NOTE: Medicaid eligibility is reaffirmed each month for most members. Therefore, bills must be for services provided during each calendar month, e.g., 01/01/06 01/31/06.

INVOICE PROCESSING

The Medicaid invoice processing system utilizes a sophisticated electronic system to process Medicaid claims. Once a claim has been received, imaged, assigned a crossreference number, and entered into the system, it is placed in one of the following categories:

<u>Remittance Voucher</u>

- **Approved** Payment is approved or Pended. Pended claims are placed in a pended status for manual adjudication (the provider must not resubmit).
- Denied Payment cannot be approved because of the reason stated on the

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	22
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

remittance voucher.

- **Pend** Payment is pended for claim to be manually reviewed by DMAS staff or waiting on further information from provider.
- <u>No Response</u> If one of the above responses has not been received within 30 days, the provider should assume non delivery and rebill using a new invoice form. The provider's failure to follow up on these situations does not warrant individual or additional consideration for late billing.

Manual Title	Chapter	Page
Podiatry Manual	¥	23
Chapter Subject	Page Revision Date	
Billing Instructions	07/31/2015	

EXHIBITS

-<u>Page</u>

-1

Health Insurance Claim Form CMS-1500 (02-12)